EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / MySQL Related Issues / MySql conversion confusion...

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: MySql conversion confusion...

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

babray
10-03-2005 @ 7:00 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2004

Hi!

I know MySql is good but not that good! I used the mysql.com migration toolkit and "thought" I had everything set. New host, new DB... but the "new DB" is 250KB as opposed to the 13 MB of Access!

Do I need to put the Access DB and the MySql file to the server? Did I miss something in the migration toolkit? I followed a tutorial by mysql but ...

I also invested in SQLManager and would use their wizard, tutorial included except they do not say inthe tutorial or toolbar how to get to it! Help ther is welcome as well.

If I sound furstrated, frazzled and like I'm back to square one... I am.

THANKS!
B

GrowlyBear
10-15-2005 @ 3:25 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1314
Joined: May 2004

First off is all there data there? Check with the MySQL Query browser (downloadable for free from mysql.com)

Next MS Access is big, add and delete a record and it gets bigger. Delete 5 records and it gets bigger.

If you can, make a copy of that access db and then run under "Tools" > "Database Utilites" > "Compact and Repair Database"

Then compare sizes for the old and new files. The new one should be significantly smaller.

Using the MySql migration tool kit has several options.
When migrating it will ask if you want to create the script to "build" the database on other servers. If yes the it will create the .sql file.
Then it will convert and build the script to build your  database. Easily missed is the option to migrate existing data when building the database. Because it can build the database without migrating existing data.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I think I'm a Hypochondriac, what do you take for that?

babray
10-15-2005 @ 9:21 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2004

Thanks GrowlyBear,

I finally bit the bullet and charged ahead. Everything was there and all is well and working. I'm finding that not much is writtena about MySQL and even less for those using it on home machines strictly for development.

I appreciate the answer.
Betty

GrowlyBear
10-15-2005 @ 9:37 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1314
Joined: May 2004

yup yup I hear ya, I have my own little setup at home.
Big problem is at home you are god, you can try anything, then when you try it on your hosted site you find out they have a ton of restrictions and it's back to the drawingboard. Smile

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I think I'm a Hypochondriac, what do you take for that?

babray
10-15-2005 @ 9:46 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2004

I hear that... I learned CF thanks to Easycfm and other tutorials and DW extensions, got everything working with MS Access then decided that the "smart" thing to do was go ahead before launch and make the switch. Hasn't been too bad really, except lack of the "this is how you do it things". I looked for 3 gours the other afternoon for something on converting InnoDb to MyISAM and things like that. It is frustrating. Even the MySQL Administrator does not talk about it, and neither does the MySQL manual that you can find and understand...
Oh well,

Thanks again for the hand!
B

jarottman
10-18-2005 @ 3:02 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Senior Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Sep 2004

What exactly are you unable to do babray. I have always found more limitations with access then with mysql.

And as for documentation, there is tons and tons and maybe even more tons of documentation on mysql. Here is a link to full documentation of mysql 5.0

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/index.html

| There's no place like /root | There's no place like /root | There's no place like /root |

babray
10-18-2005 @ 3:23 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2004

I finally got everything figured out and working. It was just that everything I was finding seemed like it was aimed at full servers rather than one on my poor little XP box that I was using to get the backend of a web site working. If I'd look for extension names, or how/where data was stored I could not find the information. I finally bit the bullet... and dove in!

I guess the frustration I was seeing was that all the documentation was aimed at the top end and very little aimed at the little folks. Somewhere there should be a nice beginners tutorial or book. AND with time and helping hands for newbie questions, the conversion is done and working.

Thanks to gfolks like you and GrowlyBear!
Betty


Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.