EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / ColdFusion Hosting / CF hosting with GoDaddy

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: CF hosting with GoDaddy -- page: 1 2 3 4 5

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

megan
05-16-2006 @ 6:27 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 2398
Joined: Jan 2003

yeah - it really looks like this is a problem their support needs to fix, but sounds like they don't want to admit it's their problem Frown

~megan

We have art so that we shall not die of reality ~ Nietzsche

desky
05-17-2006 @ 3:54 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 2006

so, i contacted their customer support AGAIN today and went thru the entire story AGAIN and was told that the macromedia/adobe article is wrong and that the only way that this would work for me is to use .php to move the file ...

**if i knew .php and wanted a .php server i wouldnt have paid the extra for the CF support**

*sigh*

any ideas/suggestions Smile

mquack
05-17-2006 @ 4:00 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1544
Joined: Jan 2005

quote:


any ideas/suggestions


YES!  Ditch them and get a REAL host!  They obviously have absolutely no clue whatsoever about ColdFusion, so if you want ColdFusion, get a host that knows what the hell they're talking about/doing!

http://www.rachelqueensg.com

desky
05-17-2006 @ 11:05 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 2006

Ok guys, I FINALLY!!! got this to work.

After countless support tickets, phone calls (thank god for VOIP since they dont have an 800#) and hours on google and forums

I found out that part of my problem was the fact that I have my account running on a linux box (i needed php support and they dont offer it on their windows servers) and that is why they wouldnt allow the CF user account write access to the other folders.  They said something about it being really powerful and could cause serious problems if misused, blah blah Smile   and that the only way I could make it work would be to use .php to handle the upload and move process.

So I started looking at .php and finally found the answer to my problem.

I am still using the .cfm page to upload the file but instead of the action being another .cfm page it points to a .php page that does the rest and it works ... here is the .php code, hopefully I can help someone else from going thru all of this in the future


**/  

<?php

$uploaddir = '/uploadfolder/';
$uploadfile = $uploaddir . basename($_FILES['userfile']['name']);

echo '<pre>';
if (move_uploaded_file($_FILES['userfile']['tmp_name'], $uploadfile)) {
   echo "The file was successfully uploaded.\n";
} else {
   echo "The file was NOT uploaded!\n";
}

echo 'Here is some more debugging info:';
print_r($_FILES);

print "</pre>";

?>

mquack
05-17-2006 @ 11:10 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1544
Joined: Jan 2005

LOL!  The problem still remains though: you are attempting to use ColdFusion with a host that has absolutely zero clue about it!  But if you're happy with mix-matching your apps, more power to ya! Smile

http://www.rachelqueensg.com

desky
05-17-2006 @ 11:14 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 2006

well .. the thing is, i really dont have a pressing use for cffile at the moment but in the future I might use it, so I wanted it to work .. for the most part they are stable and capable of doing what I need them to and the price is right.

I will say though that if I was hosting a critical CF site, I would not recommend them.

In the end, you get what you pay for ... fortunately for me it suits my needs ..

Thnx to everyone for your support and help with this .. you guys rock!

GrowlyBear
05-18-2006 @ 10:48 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1314
Joined: May 2004

Well i guess then no renewing with Godaddy's CF hosting!
*sigh* still searching for a CF reseller who is good, and not asking for exorbidant prices, as EVERYTHING becomes almost doubles when I convert to Singapore dollars.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
CF Blogger
http://www.cfblogger.com

mquack
05-18-2006 @ 4:43 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1544
Joined: Jan 2005

GB-

Don't know what price range you're looking for, but EnterHost has excellent service for what is in my opinion a good price.

http://www.rachelqueensg.com

adrianciocalau
06-28-2006 @ 5:49 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2003

Hi,

I am having the same problems with GoDaddy ColdFusion account - I cannot use CFFILE tag because of the temporary folder permissions being restricted. I searched the internet and found the solution on the Macromedia website, but they don't want to hear about. I send them few emails already, and of course, in the first message it says my code is wrong, next, they don't make me favours and they didn't change anything on their server configuration "just for me", and so on...

They just don't want to admit they don't know anything about ColdFusion and they just don't want to try to fix this problem. I am still waiting for an answer but I doubt they will do anything.

Another problem I have with them is CLIENT variables not working. Do you know anything about that? If I assign a value to one of the CLIENT variables, it's just doesn't keep the value if I leave that page using a <CFLOCATION> tag.

Also, their servers are not having the same configuration, because I am hosting more websites, and for one of them I got an error if I try to use <CFAPPLICATION clientmanagement="yes" setclientcookies="yes"> but on another account I can use them, even if they loose the value between pages.

So, I am very dissapointed of GoDaddy services as ColdFusion hosting...

Adrian Ciocalau,
Fast Web Development Team
http://www.fwdteam.com

adrianciocalau
06-28-2006 @ 2:26 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2003

Amazing, but after few other emails, my message got to the right guys who fixed the problem! So, they can fix it, it's just a matter of how much do you insist!

Nice that it works Smile  We beat "the system" :D

Adrian.

PAGE: 1 2 3 4 5

Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.