EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / ColdFusion Applications / CF Intranet database

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: CF Intranet database

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

BigNicko
04-01-2004 @ 12:39 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2004

Hello..I'm new to CF, but have some Access knowledge.
I need to create a database to work with CF that will house about 500 docs searchable, and separated by the different depts (about 150 depts)..can you give me a basic gameplan and a estimate on the time building this (and tying it into the CF intranet site) would require? Remember I'm a CF newbie.

Webmaster
04-01-2004 @ 1:23 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Administrator
Posts: 4542
Joined: Jan 2002

Two tables..

TblDocuments
  Document_id (AutoNumber) - This will be the primary key.
  Document_Title - Text (255) - This will be the document title.
  Document (Memo) - This will be the actual document (or link to the document)
  Document_CategoryID (Numeric) - this will be the category the document will be in.
  Document_Active (YesNo) - This will let you if the document is active or not.

TblDocumentCategories
  Document_CategoryID (AutoNumber) - This will be the Category ID (To be able to join with the documents table)
  Document_Category (text (255) - This is the name of the category.
  Document_Category_Active (YesNo) - This will let you know if this category is active or not.

Then you would simply place documents in the TblDocuments table and by putting a category you can tell where to display it...

That more or less what you need?

Thanks,
Pablo Varando
Team Macromedia Member
=====================================================

BigNicko
04-05-2004 @ 6:45 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2004

Ok..did I say Im really really new?
Do you mean that CF has a built in database all its own..so I dont need to build one in SQL or Access beforehand?
Please explain further to the dummy..thank you!


Liquid5118
04-05-2004 @ 7:39 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Apr 2004

he was referring to the tables you need to create in access to house the documents. You will then need to create a SQL query to retrieve these docs followed by the cfoutput that will display it on the web browser.

If you're absolutely new at this, try picking up "Sams Teach yourself Coldfusion in 21 days" book. Its a great book to get your feet wet with coldfusion. I got one on there for 5 bucks!

<!---- c0ldfu$i0n 0Wn$ pHp ------->

This message was edited by Liquid5118 on 4-6-04 @ 8:42 AM


Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.