EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / Coding Help! / "Out of Memory Error"????

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: "Out of Memory Error"????

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

mquack
08-04-2005 @ 12:00 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1544
Joined: Jan 2005

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError

That's the message.  Nothing else - no details of any sort.  What does this mean and how can I avoid it?

I've been doing CF for many years now, and I've never seen that message before today.  The server's resources aren't even running at 3% though, so it has me quite puzzled.

http://www.rachelqueensg.com

This message was edited by mquack on 8-4-05 @ 12:03 AM

Webmaster
08-04-2005 @ 2:30 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Administrator
Posts: 4542
Joined: Jan 2002

Try this:

http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowledgebase/index.cfm?id=tn_18548

Pablo Varando
Chief Software Architect
EasyCFM.COM, LLC.

904.483.1457\\ mobile
webmaster@easycfm.com\\email

mquack
08-04-2005 @ 11:19 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Moderator
Posts: 1544
Joined: Jan 2005

Pablo-

I found that TechNote sometime after I had posted last night, but wasn't quite sure that it was the solution, as the "JVM Heap" settings above that seem to contradict it?

"Minimum JVM Heap Size (MB)  0
Maximum JVM Heap Size (MB)  512

The Memory Size settings determines the memory range to be used by the JVM."

I couldn't find anything else that recommended higher settings, so I haven't tried them yet, but I was thinking about trying 1024 or something like that.

I guess what I'd like to know is how to track how much data is in the memory, and if there is a way to flush only the data I want flushed, rather than everything.

In the meantime, I'll be looking at ways to drastically reduce the items stored in memory.  LOL

http://www.rachelqueensg.com

Lola
08-04-2005 @ 11:24 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Senior Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Feb 2005

Well you can't go above the RAM memory. So make sure you have 1024 or more MB of RAM.


Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.