EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / Coding Help! / CFLOGIN Timeout Warning?

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: CFLOGIN Timeout Warning?

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

][ce
06-07-2005 @ 9:48 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2003

Hey everybody!

I have a a question, and would like to know if there is a way to do this.
I would like to have a warning popup window for a user if their session is going to timeout (in CFLOGIN) - I know this is possible with using javascript, but this counts the timeout on a per page basis.  Thus, my problem appears if the user has multiple windows open.

I was wondering if it is possible to display a warning to the user if they are inactive in all windows after a certain period of time.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

VelvettFogg
06-07-2005 @ 6:52 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Dec 2004

Yes.

and

No.

Yes if all the satalite windows were opened by your application .. then you can use JS to loop through the list of possible window names, and if the window exists, display the message.

No if a surfer is opening the windows by them selves --- hmmm... unless you could treat them as a JS array, so... maybe No should be changed to mabye?

][ce
06-07-2005 @ 10:00 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2003

LOL... Confused

I guess the problem I was having with JS is that it would start counting on every page, not just one, or, better yet, the most recent page.

How could I get JS to loop through the pages, know which one is the most recent hit, and then start counting from there?

If possible, a short example would be a huge help!

Thanks,
Dave

][ce
06-07-2005 @ 10:01 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2003

LOL... Confused

I guess the problem I was having with JS is that it would start counting on every page, not just one, or, better yet, the most recent page.

How could I get JS to loop through the pages, know which one is the most recent hit, and then start counting from there?

If possible, a short example would be a huge help!

Thanks,
Dave

VelvettFogg
06-08-2005 @ 10:11 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Dec 2004

I cant think of a way to over come the "multiple windows" thing.

Because of that, I dont think your idea is pratical.


Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.