EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / Coding Help! / "I can't build a decent Discussion Board blues"

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: "I can't build a decent Discussion Board blues" -- page: 1 2 3

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts first

lisa
03-17-2009 @ 4:30 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2009

I have meet your accident
i just put this code
<cfset THIS.clientmanagement="yes">
in the "application.cfc"
then,the error is disapear.
you can try it.

and it has another method to correct it.
check your settings in CF Admin -> Server Settings -> Client Variables

cpink
03-02-2004 @ 11:39 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 2004

Okay I am hoping that I have it this time but now my variables are coming up undefined.  When will this work for me. Here is my Application.cfm code:


<CFAPPLICATION NAME="kForum"
    CLIENTMANAGEMENT="Yes"
    CLIENTSTORAGE="fgkc_com"
    SETCLIENTCOOKIES="Yes" >





<CFSET Admin.Username="Administrator">
<CFSET Admin.Password="pass">
<CFSET Forum.Name="Kingdom Forum">
<CFSET Forum.URL="http://www.fgkc.com/message/index.cfm">
<CFSET Website.Title="Full Gospel Kingdom Church">
<CFSET Website.URL="http://www.fgkc.com">
<CFSET Database.DSN="fgkc_com">
<CFSET GuestLoginAllowed="False">
<CFSET Color1="FBBF32">
<CFSET Color2="A73322">
<CFSET BGColor="DF7100">
<CFPARAM NAME="recordsshown" DEFAULT="25">




<CFPARAM NAME="action" DEFAULT="">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.UserName" DEFAULT="Guest">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.LoggedIn" DEFAULT="False">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.AdminLoggedIn" DEFAULT="False">
<CFPARAM NAME="postid" DEFAULT="0">
<CFPARAM NAME="cookie.username" DEFAULT="">
<CFPARAM NAME="startrow" DEFAULT="1">

________________________________________________________

This is the error I am getting now........
Element URL is undefined in WEBSITE.  

  
The error occurred in /home/felton/fgkc-www/message/header.cfm: line 169

167 : <A HREF="viewposts.cfm"><FONT COLOR="#FFFFFF">Post a New Topic</FONT></A>|
168 : <A HREF="viewposts.cfm"><FONT COLOR="#FFFFFF">View the Posted Topics</FONT></A> |
169 : <A HREF="<CFOUTPUT>#Website.URL#</CFOUTPUT>"><FONT COLOR="#FFFFFF">Back to <CFOUTPUT>#Website.Title#</CFOUTPUT></FONT></A> |
170 : <CFIF Client.LoggedIn EQ "False">
171 : <A HREF="login.cfm"><FONT COLOR="#FFFFFF">Log In</FONT></A>




Kindest Regards, CPINK

Webmaster
03-02-2004 @ 9:02 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Administrator
Posts: 4542
Joined: Jan 2002

This:

<CFAPPLICATION NAME="kforum"
    CLIENTMANAGEMENT="Yes"
     clientstorage="fgkc_com"  
    SETCLIENTCOOKIES="Yes"  >


Has to go in your APPLICATION.CFM file BEFORE this:
<cflock scope="application" type="readonly" timeout="15">
<CFPARAM NAME="action" DEFAULT="">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.UserName" DEFAULT="Guest">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.LoggedIn" DEFAULT="False">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.AdminLoggedIn" DEFAULT="False">
<CFPARAM NAME="postid" DEFAULT="0">
<CFPARAM NAME="cookie.username" DEFAULT="">
<CFPARAM NAME="startrow" DEFAULT="1">
</cflock>

Remember that the Application.cfm will EXECUTE FIRST before any .CFM file is called.. so if you are cflocking or reading/writing an Application scoped variable.. the <CFApplication> tag has to preceed it.

So by general (Good Practice) I do this:

<!--- Application.cfm begins --->
<CFAPPLICATION NAME="kforum"
    CLIENTMANAGEMENT="Yes"
     clientstorage="fgkc_com"  
    SETCLIENTCOOKIES="Yes"  >

<!--- rest of your code then starts here --->


Thanks,
Pablo Varando
Team Macromedia Member
=====================================================

dk
03-02-2004 @ 8:50 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jan 2004

You do not need to use cflock with client variables. Client variables are exclusive to the client.

cpink
03-02-2004 @ 8:29 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 2004

<CFAPPLICATION NAME="kforum"
    CLIENTMANAGEMENT="Yes"
     clientstorage="fgkc_com"  
    SETCLIENTCOOKIES="Yes"  >



<CFSET Admin.Username="Administrator">
<CFSET Admin.Password="pass">
<CFSET Forum.Name="Kingdom Forum">
<CFSET Forum.URL="http://www.fgkc.com/KingdomForum/index.cfm">
<CFSET Website.Title="Full Gospel Kingdom Church">
<CFSET Website.URL="index.cfm">
<CFSET Database.DSN="fgkc_com">
<CFSET GuestLoginAllowed="False">
<CFSET Color1="FBBF32">
<CFSET Color2="A43122">
<CFSET BGColor="FF7F00">
<CFPARAM NAME="recordsshown" DEFAULT="25">


Here is my application.cfm page........



<cflock scope="application" type="readonly" timeout="15">
<CFPARAM NAME="action" DEFAULT="">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.UserName" DEFAULT="Guest">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.LoggedIn" DEFAULT="False">
<CFPARAM NAME="Client.AdminLoggedIn" DEFAULT="False">
<CFPARAM NAME="postid" DEFAULT="0">
<CFPARAM NAME="cookie.username" DEFAULT="">
<CFPARAM NAME="startrow" DEFAULT="1">
</cflock>

Kindest Regards, CPINK

Webmaster
03-01-2004 @ 9:25 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Administrator
Posts: 4542
Joined: Jan 2002

Post your current Application.cfm page...

Thanks,
Pablo Varando
Team Macromedia Member
=====================================================

dk
03-01-2004 @ 8:42 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jan 2004

It is not implemented on the server. You use it in your web pages to clear out variables when they are not needed.

cpink
03-01-2004 @ 6:49 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 2004

They have communicated at the host server that they have made the changes and I am still getting the error message. That the client scope is still not enabled.

Another quest where in the cf admin would I set DeleteClientVariable("MyVar")
and how would I implement that option.......

Kindest Regards, CPINK

This message was edited by cpink on 3-1-04 @ 6:52 PM

Webmaster
03-01-2004 @ 5:39 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Administrator
Posts: 4542
Joined: Jan 2002

ok...

go to:

http://localhost/cfide/administrator/

log in and then on the left menu go as follows:

Server Settings
Client Variables

Click on the Client Variables link.

Under: Select Data Source to Add as Client Store
select your database and click "ADD"

If you do not have the CLIENT database tables setup on the database, leave the "Create Client database tables" checkbox checked... then click SUBMIT Changes.

You're done!

Thanks,
Pablo Varando
Team Macromedia Member
=====================================================

cpink
03-01-2004 @ 5:09 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 2004

I am trying to walk my host throught this now I need instructions.... Help

Kindest Regards, CPINK

PAGE: 1 2 3

Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.