EasyCFM.COM ColdFusion Forums / Tutorial Requests! / CFMX search set up help

   Reply to Discussion | New Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: CFMX search set up help

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

Addos
02-10-2003 @ 9:15 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Jan 2003

I’m completely new to ColdFusion. I have just set up on DWMX a local testing IIS server using CFMX. I also have mySQL but I don’t mind using Access until I get a handle on how things work.

Basically I’m trying to set up a music teachers database where someone can simply put in a search with two queries; a location and an instrument and get a response with an name address and contact details.

I hope this is not too big a question but if anyone can help me get started on this I would be extremely grateful. I have done some of the tutorials here so I’m becoming somewhat familiar with the set up of things.
Many thanks
Brian


Webmaster
02-10-2003 @ 5:23 PM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
Administrator
Posts: 4542
Joined: Jan 2002

Do you have the databse already created? If so, could you let us know what the fields are named? That way we can give you a better example...

Thanks,
Pablo Varando
EasyCFM.COM, LLC.
=====================================================
"In my early years SPAM was good, not!"

Addos
02-11-2003 @ 4:23 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Jan 2003

A million thanks you for your reply.

I have set up ‘Assess’ for the moment and the fields I have in this are;
Firstname
Lastname
Address1
Address2
Address3
Address4
Instrument
Phone
Mobile

Address4 will equal a place like London or Dublin etc.
Instrument will equal violin, piano etc.

Many thanks for you help once again.
Brian

Ps. I’m using Win XP pro, and have set up CFMX (IIS) to test locally and from what I have experimented with so far it seems to be working ok.



Addos
02-11-2003 @ 4:27 AM
Reply
Edit
Profile
Send P.M.
My Gravatar!
Powered by Gravatar
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Jan 2003

Ps, I meant to add to the top of that list 'searchid' so it would read as follows:

Searchid
Firstname
Lastname
Address1
Address2
Address3
Address4
Instrument
Phone
Mobile

Thanks
Brian


Website Designed and Developed by Pablo Varando.